I woke up from a nap this afternoon...heard somebody holler and thought it was on the tv...which was on in the living room. But the third time I heard the yell...and could hear a commercial on tv...I decided to investigate! I walked out to the kitchen...over by the table...and....there was a strange man sitting in George's recliner.
He looked at me...like 'who are you'....and I said, "who are you...what are you doing in my house?" He said....well slurred, actually..."I'm Brian's nephew." It was pretty obvious to me that he was stone-cold drunk! To every question I asked, he answered that he was Brian's nephew. Evidently, he thought I should know Brian, since I was in Brian's house! It took me about ten minutes to convince him that Brian didn't live here....and perhaps he should check the house next door! After he left, I looked out the window (after locking the door behind him...kinda like the horse and the cart, right?) and there was a red riding mower in our yard and the grass had been very drunkenly mowed!
Now, believe me I was not as calm as this writing about it sounds. I was scared spitless! While I was calmly trying to convince him to leave, random thoughts flitted through my head...like...call 911...but maybe he'll get violent if I pick up the phone.....go out the back door to a neighbor...but there's no neighbor out back of us....It seemed my best bet was to stay calm and convince him he was in the wrong house.
About ten minutes after he left, he came back and got the riding mower. And maybe a half hour later, he was again mowing our lawn! But I had all the doors locked!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment