Thursday, October 30, 2008

DULL THURSDAY

second day in a row without seeing Kadyn....big sigh. He's sick. Was throwing up all day yesterday and last night. Sounds like he's on the mend now though.

Tomorrow is flea market....Tammy's working it all day. She's opening at 11 and will probably close at 5 or 6. Then Saturday, I have to open and work until probably 2 because Tammy has Kadyn. Kenny, his father, gets him on Saturday afternoons and all day Sunday.

Last weekend was a little better. We still didn't do very good, but at least there were more people walking through. I saw an advertisement in the little "Mad Money" coupon book today for the flea market, so perhaps that will help traffic.

I went to Joanne's yesterday to buy the crystals I need to make a special order bracelet. What a wasted trip. First of all, their crystals were so picked over, they didn't have the colors I needed. I did pick up a few other beads that were on sale. Then I went to check-out! One register was open. fifteen people in line. I stood there in line for five or ten minutes...and was in so much pain, I just pushed my cart to the side and exclaimed..."There's nothing in this store I want badly enough to stand in this line." As I walked away, I heard another lady say she agreed with me....and she walked out the door behind me. I didn't feel good all day today...so hopefully, tomorrow I can go over to Michaels and find the crystals I need.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

KADYN

There are days I don't see Kadyn....but Tammy brings him over at least three or four times a week. And it just warms my heart when he walks in, sees me, and grins from ear to ear.

The other day he taught me how to eat a freezer pop. Now, I don't care for them. But he loves them....and has to have one every time he comes over. He can open the freezer and get one..this day, he got two...and gave one to me. He took an orange, gave me a green. I cut off the ends, and he was watching me suck on mine. I put it in my mouth and pulled out a little bite with my teeth. Kadyn yelled uh-uh...frantically shaking his head. Then he took it from me, and diligently worked it up the plastic with his little fingers, then handed it back to me. I bit off what was sticking out....then again, I worked a bit up with my teeth. Uh-Uh, he says, shaking is head. He took it and again worked a bit up sticking out, and gave it to me. We did this four times....then he decided I wasn't going to learn to do it correctly, so when he worked it up, he held onto it while I took a bite. This went on three or four times. Meanwhile, his orange one is laying on the table, melting. Finally, he worked a bit up, and I opened my mouth for it. Mine, he yelled...and stuck it in his own mouth. Needless to say, by this time, I was in tears from laughing so much. I said, OK, I'll eat the orange one. Uh-Uh, he said...Gam. and he grabbed it from me and took it to Tammy. I guess he thought if I couldn't eat it right, I shouldn't have any at all!!

Every time that child walks into my house, he goes to the refrigerator and gets the cottage cheese. This is before the freezer pop. One day, because there was just a little bit left in the carton, I gave him a spoon and let him eat out of the carton. Then it took me and Tammy several days to break him from always wanting to eat out of the carton instead of putting some on a dish.

It is such a privilege to watch that child grow and develop day by day. I swear he's the smartest not-quite-two-year-old I've ever seen. He watches every move Tammy makes...and imitates it perfectly. If she sits at the table with her arms folded in front of her, Kadyn will do the same. And he wants to help all the time. He helped me mix up a meatloaf the other day....and every move I made with my hands, he duplicated exactly. He doesn't talk much. But I think he's just like his Uncle Billy...just doesn't want to talk. He can repeat everything you say and understands everything you say to him.....or to someone else.

Monday, October 27, 2008

JOEY'S BIRTHDAY

Today was Joey's birthday. He is 39 years old now...my baby! All day I've thought about the day he was born. I had quick and fairly easy births with Tammy and Buddy. But not Joey. I was in the hospital from 8 a.m Sunday morning...and he was born at 5 p.m Monday. They'd get me up walking and my pains would intensify and get close together...and I'd start hemorraging...I'd lie down, and pains would quit. Early Monday morning the doctor decided to induce labor. Breaking my water didn't work, so he gave me meds in an IV....OUCH!!!!! One constant labor pain without letup for an entire hour! AT one time...about three, they decided both the baby and I were in distress so they called the school and left word for Joe to come to the hospital. (he had basketball practice)...but the message they left was...it wasn't an emergency, but he should come to the hospital as soon as possible. The message he got was....it was'nt and emergency...we were doing ok. So, he didn't come until after practice....about 8 pm.

About 4:30, the doctor decided I had to have a c-section. But....as I was moving from my bed to the gurney, my labor came back with a vengence....bearing down pain so hard I couldn't stop it.
They rushed me to delivery....game me a spinal block...that didn't work, the doctor missed the spot. I ended up having natural childbirth....the doc couldn't even give me anything for the pain when he stitched me up....double OUCH! Because of the botched spinal....I had a headache for a week every time I sat up.

The same day Joey was born, Joe's cousin's husband, with whom we were quite close, died. He was driving to work that morning, didn't feel good, pulled off to the side of I-75....and died of a massive heart attack. Subsequently, all Joe's relatives were in town from Pittsburgh and Florida, and I had a steady stream of visitors to my hospital room and the nursery.

Then the day we went home...Saturday....(Mom had come up to stay with Joe and Tammy and Buddy)...the kids had been playing with the bassinet and broke it. Joe and I had to go to Sears and buy a portable crib for the downstairs. Also, a new washing machine because mine had quit working. Actually, Mom had overstuffed it and burned up the motor. She had never used an automatic washing machine except at the Laundromat! And a washing machine was a necessity because babies still wore cloth diapers.

We got back from Sears, and Mom informed us that Daddy was over at Aunt Susie's. He had come to pick her up...when she had planned to stay another week with me, but Daddy said a week away from him was Enough! Since Joe wouldn't go without me, he and I, with all three kids, drove Mom up to Ypsi. I was in total pain, sitting so much. On the way home, we stopped by Avanelle's and got a pillow for me to sit on.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JOEY. YOU WERE WORTH EVERYTHING I WENT THROUGH BRINGING YOU INTO THE WORLD.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

FLEA MARKET

BLAH!!! Another bad flea marketing weekend. There was, maybe, 100 people went through over the three days. The only things I saw anybody buying were cheap garage sale stuff. In fact, if they bring in any more garage sale type booths, we'll be outta there! And I have a problem anyway....when I first talked to the owner about renting a booth, I told her my concern was that there would be too many jewelry booths....and I didn't want a booth if there would be jewelry in every 3 or 4 booths...she said she wouldn't allow that. Wellllll......She's rented perhaps 30 booths...besides the garage sale booths her family has, perhaps 20 or more....and of the 30 or so, NINE of them are selling jewelry.

We're paid up through November, and I hope we can make enough for December. After that, we'll see. If we're not making money, I can't see going on with it. We haven't made enough to get my initial first months rent back.

Tammy's going to make some candles...maybe that will help. Its obvious that we need something besides jewelry. Maybe I should clean out my house....lol....garage sale stuff!

Tuesday, October 14, 2008


KADYN...the first weekend at the flea market, I bought this car for him. It was in the back of the van and he had to try it out!

MORE PICTURES



BILLY'S KIDS....FROM LEFT
LAYNI, JONAH AND ABBY

Picture


Joey's kids. bottoms to top...or left to right...Andrew, Amy, Aaron and Ann.

Doctor Day

Joe and I went to doctor today. Got flu shots. Joe got a thumbs up and I got a thumbs down. Said he couldn't hear any sounds in my lungs...no movement of air. On the plus side, I had lost 12 pounds...somewhere. Maybe because in the summer I eat more vegetables. I swear, I could become a vegetarian if I could keep fresh green beans, cabbage, potatoes and tomatoes all year.

And we have been eating a lot of chicken...grilled, baked, stewed...and only occasionally, fried. One of our favorite chicken dishes is cooked rice in a baking pan, then a layer of frozen broccoli... with chicken breasts on top of that...cream of chicken soup (mixed with can of water)poured over that...and covered with tin foil, baked for about an hour. yummy. I've also made it with a stuffing mix instead of rice...still very good.

Today I bought some fresh collard greens, cooked them in water til tender then fried them in a little bit of bacon grease with onions. Fried some cornbread. That's all I ate today. The guys opted for left over pot roast from a couple days ago, for some reason.

Meals are so boring anymore. I'm trying to cut down on pasta. But the table looks so bare with just meat and vegetables. Sometimes I get ambitious and open a can of peaches, too. Haha. Now both Joe and I can make a meal out of peaches and cottage cheese, or cottage cheese and tomatoes...but George hates cottage cheese. Wednesday is pasta day, Thank you Jesus! I'm thinking spaghetti.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

TERRIBLE!! TERRIBLE!!!

ACKKK!!! Two terrible days at the flea market. nothing...no $ yesterday...and only $6 today. Sure hope tomorrow is better.

As it worked out, I didn't have to work the booth at all yesterday. I went up at 2 but Teri was there visiting with Tammy. She had Grant and Kadyn with her (she was watching Kadyn)...so I just took Kadyn outside for awhile, then we closed it all up at 3:30 since nobody but vendors were in the building.

Today, I went in and relieved Tammy at 3...closed up at 6:30. Tomorrow I'm supposed to work it from 10 to 2, when Tammy will take over. She has Kadyn until then. He's a real hand full up there, so its easier for Tammy to just stay home with him.

They tell us that there used to be a flea market in the same building up til about six years ago...and it was always crowded! I sure hope it gets that way again.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

FLEA MARKET

Tomorrow is Friday...and I'll be at the flea market most of the day. Tammy and I have a booth at a local flea market...every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. After only two weekends, we showed a minor profit...but we did pay in advance for November.

Joey stayed with us last night. He had some work here in Fort Wayne yesterday and today. It was wonderful having him. I don't see nearly enough of either of my sons....and am very grateful when I do. Thank You, Lord.

Today was a lazy day for me. I worked on my laptop...trying to figure out what's wrong with it...but whatever it is, is beyond my expertise. I've talked to a few people about it and the consensus seems to be that....Vista is crap. I may end up taking it to a computer repair shop and having XP installed on it.

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

POLITICAL OUTSOURCING

Yesterday I had a phone call asking me to participate in a political survey, which I did. I answered all the questions, although several times I had to ask him to repeat the question. I just couldn't understand him since he had a heavy foreign accent.

A couple of years ago, I had a similar experience. Then, I asked the caller where he was located and he replied that he couldn't say. I said, "can you at least tell me if you are in the United States?" "No, I'm not," was his answer.

Now, I have a real problem with this. Our economy is in the tank and our politicians are hiring foreigners to poll Americans. There's just something wrong with that picture.

Of one thing you can be sure...I will not vote for that politician!

Sunday, October 5, 2008

FIFTY YEARS

In the fifty years since my daughter was born...there have been so many changes in the world...things we have now, I never even imagined back then.

If you were lucky and rich enough to own a TV....it was in black and white...on a a tiny screen. The biggest screens were 19 inches. In 1968 I got my first color TV...a floor model with a 21 inch screen.

Telephones....if you lived in the country you probably had a "party-line"....two or more families on the same line...and someone was always talking when you wanted to use the telephone.

Washing machines....if you had the latest and newest and best, you had a Maytag wringer washer. The dryer was lines strung in the back yard. Or in bad weather, in the house.

The only instant food was instant mashed potatoes that had the consistency of glue and tasted like it too. Of course, you could buy canned vegetables and fruits....but meal preparation ...breakfast, dinner and supper....took up several hours of my day. I thanked God for Campbell's soups and Pork n beans! And there were no microwave ovens. I got my first one in Bremen in 1976.

There were no disposable diapers! All diapers were cloth...Birdseye was the best. We had a choice of square or rectangle ones. And there was a diaper pail in the bathroom where they were put to soak after dumping the contents into the toilet, until washday, by which time they were pretty ripe and smelly! And babies wet a lot...so, without rubber pants, I could go through a dozen diapers in a day! Tammy was allergic to the rubber so, every time we picked her up, she had to be changed.

Nobody locked their doors...or their cars. You could fill your gas tank...18 to 20 gallons...for less than $5. Mark was in the Air Force and brought home $80 a month plus my allotment of $72...went up to $92 after Buddy was born. We didn't own a car until after Buddy was born and I went to work full time....making $40 a week. My budget was....$80 rent, $60 food, $10 laundromat. When Buddy was six months old, I went to work full time, making $40 a week and we felt rich! Even after paying $15 a week for a baby-sitter! We bought a used car and got a telephone and could afford to go to a movie once in a while.

It just seems that life was simpler then. Kids could play outside and we didn't have to watch them every minute. I do appreciate all the conveniences we enjoy today, but I find myself thinking more and more about how simple life was back then...and wish I could have realized it and taken the time to enjoy it more instead of worrying about what we didn't have and how we we could get it.

WHO'S GETTING OLD?????

My daughter Tammy was FIFTY years old this past Wednesday. She was a tad upset over it...and I thought...you should be me, honey!

On Monday her daughters took her out for lunch to Olive Garden and I tagged along. Then on Wednesday Joe and I took her to Red Lobster for lunch. Her kids bought her a new couch...at least they gave her a card with a picture of a couch. They've picked out one at Big Lots ...now they just have to pay for it and pick it up.

It doesn't seem possible that it's been 50 years since she was born. I remember that day like it was yesterday. Mark and I were only 19...and we were equally scared and excited. He was so excited he called his mother...and shouted in the phone "I'm a Dad...I'm a Dad" and then hung up without even telling her anything about the baby!

Being the oldest of eight kids, I was pretty knowledgeable about how to take care of a baby...so I wasn't worried about that. But I was so in awe of her, I used to hang over her crib just watching her sleep. Mark would too. If she stretched, we would oooh and aaaah...yelling for the other one to come look. Mark was determined to be a hands-on dad...very unusual for a man in those days....and took great joy and pride in changing her diaper....until he had to changed a very messy one....he took one look at that dirty diaper and promptly threw up...barely missing the baby! From then on, before he'd change her, he'd pick her up and smell her bottom. If he smelled anything, he'd hand her to me to change.

A couple of day after we brought her home, Mark was making up her formula...well...I had made it and put it on to boil. We didn't have instant formula back then. We mixed up Carnation milk, corn sugar and water...poured it in previousely sterilized bottles...and then had to "cook" the filled bottles in boiling water for 30 minutes. Well, Tammy was hungry and Mark took the boiling hot bottle and held it under cold running water....and it exploded! He got a piece of glass in his eye. We didn't have a car, so I ran upstairs to a friend...and asked him to drive us to the ER. At the ER, while the docs are working on Mark, a nurse came up to me...and said why are you bleeding so hard? I looked down and there was a pool of blood at my feet. So they put me on a table in the same room...and discovered I had torn my stitches so bad they had to restitch me. Ouch...ouch...ouch! Mark had to wear a "pirate's patch" over his eye for a couple of weeks...but it was fine, eventually.

I've always said its the Mother who deserves the birthday cards....giving birth is such a miracle...and so much work for the mother...she should celebrate the day every year!