Sunday, December 28, 2008

FAMILY CHRISTMAS

Our family Christmas was held yesterday, Saturday, at Billy's house in Napannee. We had a wonderful time. Billy and Erica were super ....food was terrific. One of the best family Christmas get-togethers, ever.

There were 22 of us present....all of my immediate family...except for Joe and George who opted not to go. But that is mind-boggling to me, knowing that at least seventeen people are in this world because I am.....and because my Mom was....and my Granny was. and so on. My memory bank only goes back to Granny. That means my memory bank has direct knowledge of six generations. Awesome!

Thursday, December 25, 2008

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JESUS

I hope today was a wonderful Christmas for you and yours. Ours was....not quite what I had planned!

Tammy, Sarah and Kadyn came over about 9 am and Kadyn opened his gifts from us (me and Joe.) He was one excited little boy. I do believe his favorite present was the Spongebob Squarepants hat and mittens. We got him a gadget-belt that he liked, too. And a bunch of other toys.

We were supposed to go to my brothers, Jim and Loretta, for dinner. But after the kids left, Joe said he didn't feel good and was not going. Therefore, we all stayed home....and I had not bought anything to cook a Christmas dinner. We had chicken wings and vegetables with dip. As it turned out, Joe was not sick...he just didn't want to go. He thought I would go alone. When I stayed home, he felt bad....after I moped around and made him feel guilty!

Teri, Anthony and Grant didn't come over, they'll stop by tomorrow to get Grant's presents. Then Saturday, we're going to Billy's for our big family Christmas. I'm going to that one whether Joe goes or not...and I don't think he will. But I doubt he'll fake another illness!

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

It's Christmas Eve...everybody here is asleep except me. I've been trying to play bingo on the computer, but my mind keeps wandering. But, it keeps going to a good place. I finally had to give up a little bit ago and read the story of the first Christmas...in my bible. We all know the story how Jesus was born in a manger in Bethlehem because there was no place else available.

But, for some reason, tonight my mind keeps going to Mary. Can you imagine how scared that girl was....and she was a girl. Only 13 or 14 years old. We all know it hurts to have a baby. And here she is, in pain, wanting, needing, somewhere she can lie down. And everywhere Joseph checks, they're turned away. I'm sure he was frantic. Mary was telling him she was hurting...find something, anywhere. Finally, someone tells him about this cave where livestock is kept. At first, I would imagine he scoffed at it. But when he told Mary, she said...lets go, somewhere is better than nowhere!

Once in the cave, I imagine Joseph cleaned out a spot for Mary, covered it with fresh hay and straw, left there for the animals, covered it with his or Mary's coat, making her as comfortable as possible. By then Mary wouldn't have been worrying about where she was. Her body would have taken over her mind as she entered that world only another mother could know. All her energies and emotions and thoughts would have been centered on the painful contractions that were bringing her baby into the world. Do you think she was was thinking it was God's baby she was bearing? I don't. It was her baby. She had carried it for nine months, felt it move and kick inside her.

After the baby was born, as she and Joseph examined and exclaimed over how perfect He was, perhaps then, they talked about who the baby's Father was. And gave thanks to HIM for the litle baby He had entrusted to them. Do you think they had any idea of the impact that baby would have on the world?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JESUS

Thank you Mary, for bringing my saviour into the world! Thank you Joseph, for being a godly enough man to take on the task of raising God's son! Thank you God, for giving your son, knowing he would die a horrible death, to save me!

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

CHRISTMAS JUNKIE

Here's an essay I wrote a few years ago...and it is NOT autobiographical!

I love Christmas! I love the Christmas carols on the radio, in the mall and blaring from speakers on the street corners. I love the cheerful "Merry Christmas" from a perfect stranger. I love the brightly colored lights, the blinking rope lights, the gaudy lighted santas, and the nativity scenes that remind me every day of the real meaning of Christmas. Most of all, though, I love the anticipation of Christmas morning.

I begin preparing for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving. Making "santa lists" and dragging the decorations down from the attic. Of course, my list will change weekly or even daily, as I change my mind about what will be the perfect present for each person on the list. Now, I have 20 people on my list, and each gift will take at least one full day since I always think the next store will have that perfect gift for my daughter, my son, my husband or my brother. So you can see why I have to begin shopping the Monday after Thanksgiving. (Not the day after because the stores are too crowded.) And every gift I buy, as soon as I pick it up, I can tell if it's the right one or not. All the time I'm wrapping it, I imagine how happy it's gong to make her or him. I can see the surprised look and glowing smile and hear "Oh, Mom! It's perfect and just what I wanted! How did you know!" And they won't realize they're holding more than a bought present... They're holding my love in their hands.

This year my Christmas was proceeding just as planned. The house was decorated, the tree was trimmed, and I was making good progress on my list, when my daughter showed up one morning.

Now this child of my heart, who I carried in my body for nine long months and brought into this world throughh great pain, knows me well. At least I thought she did. Yet, when she walked in, stomping the snow off her boots, she looked around, laughed and said, "Wow, Mom, you've out-done yourself this year. Looks like Christmas has puked on your house!" Puked??

I had barely recovered from that artless remark, deciding that maybe it wasn't meant to be derogatory, when, sitting at the kitchen table with a cup of coffee and a plate of homemade peanut butter fudge, she said, "Mom, I have a great idea. Since I don't know what to buy you for Christmas, let's go to the mall and you can pick out what you want. I'll even pay for lunch."

Pick out my own present? What was this child thinking about? Nobody picks out their own present. Most of the fun of Christmas morning is anticipation...wondering whick present is yours. Maybe it's that gayly wrapped green one with the speckled bow...or the big red package in the corner that wouldn't fit under the tree. ( And, NO, I never looked ahead of time.) Okay, so I'm sixty-eight years old, so what? Everybody's a child on Christmas morning!

Well I did go shopping with Tammy. How could I refuse? We visited every store at the mall. And every thing I liked, she scrutinized with great care and then decided was not quite "me" and maybe we could find something better at Macy's...or Steinmart....or Target.

Sitting in the car several hours and 20 stores later, rubbing my swollen, aching feet, Tammy said, "See Mom? That's why I don't know what to get you for Christmas. You're really hard to buy for. Why don't you just give me a list of things you'd like."

Things I'd like? I had just shown her fifty things and she didn't think any of them were just right!"

"Look, Sweetie," I said with great patience, "you know I'll like whatever you give me." And before she could offer any argument, with an inward smug smile, and an outward tired sigh, I suggested, "Why don't you just surprise me!"

Monday, December 22, 2008

GIVING

I just read a post on the Bennett's blog (the6bennetts.blogspot.com) that reminded me of my dad.

Most of you know I was an original "coalminer's daughter" but my dad, though dirt poor, had a heart as big as the sky. When we lived in KY, every Christmas Dad and Mom would pack up several bags of fruits, nuts, candies, and canned vegetables, maybe a freshly killed and cleaned chicken, some salt pork....and, on Christmas Eve, carry them several miles to my grandmothers and the aunts and uncles worse off then we were.

After we moved to Michigan, Dad continued this tradition. Only now, our relatives were better off than we were. What he would do is ask the town marshall in Sumpter for a family who needed help for Christmas. Then he and Mom would make up their bags and boxes and deliver them on Christmas Eve.

One year, after the annual delivery was made, Dad happened to talk to the marshall, who toldhim about another family with five kids who had been over-looked by the township Santa.
Dad fretted and stewed about that poor family all the rest of the day. At supper, he said to Mom that they had to do something. Mom replied that we didn't have enough to share anymore. Dad looked around the table at each of us and asked how we'd feel if we were those little children.

The upshot was...of the two chickens Mom was planning for Christmas dinner, one would go to the poor family. Our fruit salad would be a little smaller...five each apples, oranges, bananas, and a handful of nuts would go in their box. Then Dad did the unthinkable...he asked each of us kids to give up one present we knew we were getting.

Of course, we all balked at first. But Dad talked to us and made us see that giving is more rewarding than getting. We didn't contribute much. As I recall, I gave a fuzzy collar I knew I was getting (there was a girl about my age and those collars were all the rage ...worn with sweaters). Pauline , who was about 13, offered her new socks...but ended up giving new pj's.
Jimmy bargained hard to give away his socks, too...but ended up giving the nine year old boy a cap pistol. Sue gave away the tea set Santa was going to bring her and Margaret gave crayons and coloring book to the youngest.

About ten o'clock pm on Christmas Eve, we all piled into the car and delivered the boxes of goodies. We all stayed in the car while Mom and Dad carried the boxes to the door. When the woman answered the door....Mom and Dad handed her the boxes and said Merry Christmas. Well, that woman broke down. She set the boxes aside and grabbed dad in a stranglehold. Her husband...on crutches....came to the door and when he realized what was going on, he too, cried and hugged Mom. Watching from the car, I sobbed unashamedly.

That made my Christmas that year. nevermind that the family was not the same color as we were. They were so grateful, but like Dad told them, we were the lucky ones....we had enough to share! I never again saw any of them...they lived in a different school district, but I never forgot them, either. Or how wonderful my Dad was!

Saturday, December 20, 2008

GOSPEL MUSIC

I love the new contemporary Christian Music. Yet, I find myself singing the old time hymns I grew up with. The first song I ever learned all the words to was

THE OLD RUGGED CROSS.... and it remains one of my all-time favorites.

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,
the emblem of suffering and shame;
and I love that old cross where the dearest and best
for a world of lost sinners was slain.

Refrain: So I'll cherish the old rugged cross, till my trophies at last I lay down; I will cling to the old rugged cross, and exchange it some day for a crown.

2. O that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,
has a wondrous attraction for me;
for the dear Lamb of God
left his glory above to bear it to dark Calvary.
(Refrain)
3.
In that old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,
a wondrous beauty I see,
for 'twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,
to pardon and sanctify me.
(Refrain)
4. To that old rugged cross I will ever be true,
its shame and reproach gladly bear;
then he'll call me some day to my home far away,
where his glory forever I'll share.
(Refrain)

And my new favorite Contemporary Gospel song is..Here I am to Worship (and any song by Michael W. Smith)

Light of the world You stepped down into darkness
Opened my eyes let me see Beauty that made this heart adore You
Hope of a life spent with You
Here I am to worship
Here I am to bow down
Here I am to say that You’re my God
You’re altogether lovely
Altogether worthy
Altogether wonderful to me
King of all days
Oh so highly exalted
Glorious in heaven above
Humbly You came to the earth You created
All for love’s sake became poor
I’ll never know how much it cost
To see my sin upon that cross.

You can do a search on the title to hear the songs...can even download them to your computer.

BRRRRRRR COLD FREEZER

As if the ice isn't enough to deal with, now we're getting zero degrees temps plus blowing snow. In all my years, I've never seen an ice storm like this one. Ice was between one and two inches all over. Trees were falling...electric lines were breaking...over 100,000 homes were without electricity. As of 8 pm tonight, still 50,000 homes didn't have electric. And with this cold weather, its not going to melt anytime soon.

The flea market was open today...but it was a waste of time. I didn't go but Tammy worked it all day and said she might have seen 25 people who were not other vendors. The parking lot and walks were pure ice. I was afraid to go out. All I need is a broken hip!!

Tammy and I are making "scrubbies." ....little pot scrubbers. We crochet mesh fabric into little pads. They work great on non-stick pans and the stove without scratching. I'm so proud of us, hahah. We're also making lots of hats and gloves. What we don't sell at the flea market, we'll donate to various charities around town that collect coats and hats to give to people who need them. We have already donated some for Christmas presents.

Friday, December 19, 2008

HAPPY WINTER!!

The eve of the first day of winter hit with a vengeance! We had...have...at least an inch of solid ice on both decks and both cars. Closings were numerous...schools, businesses....even our flea market.

God compensates. I looked out my kitchen window and the trees were absolutely gorgeous in their shiny coats of ice. It didnt' bother me anyway, I had nowhere I wanted or needed to go. I went out yesterday and finished my Christmas shopping. Nothing really jumped out at me, so I bought what I liked and hope they like it too! Now I have a mountain of wrapping to do.

It looks more and more like we will have a White Christmas this year!!

Sunday, December 14, 2008

CHRISTMAS SHOPPING

I'm really running late this year on my shopping. Usually, I'm all finished before Thanksgiving....except for one or two I save for the first snowy day when it looks like Christmas. This year, here it is, less than two weeks until Christmas and I still have several presents to buy. As the grandchildren get older, they get tougher to buy for. Too old for toys....and Idon't know their style in clothes. Gift certificates seem so impersonal. Therefore, I make several forays through Walmart and Meijers and Big Lots...hoping something will jump out at me and be "just the right thing."

I'm really looking forward to Christmas morning. Santa Claus is going to drop off Kadyn's presents here! He will be over probably by daylight...well, maybe not that early. We're talking about Sarah here, too. Has she ever gotten up at daybreak??? Anyway, it will be fun watching that wonderful two year old boychild open his mountain of presents!

CHRISTMAS AT THE FLEA MARKET

Although the crowds are still small, they are all in a festive mood. This is likely due to the Christmas decorations each vendor has put up (except us). Every space has Christmas "stuff" for sale...ornaments, trees, lights, dancing and singing santas, reindeer, snowmen. I bought a singing and dancing hillbilly santa for my brother, Jimmy. We even have a Santa taking pictures with kids. But not with Kadyn...Kadyn is scared to death of him!

Vendors continue to come and go. We lost the vendor next to us, but we're taking over the space...expanding. Jewelry is not selling good enough to support the space, so we've added other stuff and are too crowded in one space. Besides jewelry, we are selling Scented Sea Salt Crystals..(an air freshener), candles, smelly jelly, hats, gloves, scented waxed bears, and we're adding some everyday items...dishes, etc. (If you can't beat 'em, join 'em). Tammy made some dish scrubbies out of nylon mesh and they're selling well. The metallic bracelets are going good. I sold five of them yesterday...Friday.

Today, we had a Mexican Radio Station broadcasting from there and it brought in a whole bunch of Mexicans. Tammy does the brunt of the selling...booth sitting, anyway. I have to work when she has to watch Kadyn...usually four or five hours on Friday and perhaps two or three hours on Saturday. If I'm feeling okay, I actually enjoy it.

I'm still convinced that this venture can be a money-maker...even tho nobody gets rich selling at a flea market. We just need more foot traffic. All in all, to be a new venue, its going pretty good. I'm still pouring money into it and getting no return back...but it is accomplishing my purpose...and that was to give Tammy a purpose. She's been so sick she can't work, but she can sit at the flea market and take money...most days, anyway. I think its helping ease her depression.

SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FLEA MARKETS.

Monday, December 1, 2008

HOLIDAYS

Thanksgiving was great this year. On Thanksgiving day, I had dinner at my brother, Jim's. Besides him and his wife, Loretta, my other brother, Frank and his wife Linda were there as well as Jim's son and wife and four kids. My daughter, Tammy and her daughter Sarah, and Kadyn along with my husband Joe and his brother, George. We had a wonderful time visiting and all ate too much. I haven't seen so much...and such a variety...of food since Dad died and we stopped having Thanksgiving at Mom's....in 1985.

Then today, Sunday, we had another Thanksgiving dinner at my granddaughter, Teri's house. my son Joey and wife and four kids were there as well as all of Tammy's kids and grandkids. It was wonderful seeing all of them. The food was great, the company was greater. Teri's baby, Grant, gets cuter everytime I see him. He has these great big blue eyes that seem to be taking in everything he sees so he will remember it next time. We only stayed a couple of hours. I had a coughing spasm that left me weak and exhaused and all the little kids were getting on Joe's nerves. He loves the kids and loves to see them. But in small doses! Kadyn adores Joe. As we were leaving, Kadyn stood in the door and said, over and over..."uv oo, papaw...uv oo papaw" You think he'd say to me "uv oo gram" but no....Kadyn loves me...but when Joe's around, he's number one to Kadyn.

Joey's son, Andrew who is five, brought me a box of crafts he'd made. He wants me to sell them in my "store"...at the flea market. There's book markers, door knob hangers...all with Colts theme. Stories...in book form...he's written...some pictures, a bracelet, tree ornament. About 20 items total. He has put a lot of hard work in them. Amy and Ann grow prettier and sweeter every day. I am so lucky to have such wonderful grandchildren. They are my legacy to the world and the world will be a much better place with them in it!

Soon it will be Christmas...always my favorite Holiday. This year we will celebrate it as a family at my grandson, Billy's house on the Saturday after Christmas. But first, I'll have Tammy's daughters, Teri and Sarah, and their babies here at my house for Christmas morning. I can hardly wait. I'm buying a bunch of little things, just to see Kadyn's face when he opens them. I wish I could talk my brother, Frank, into coming up and playing Santa. I'll work on getting him up to Billy's! Frank has this wonderful white beard, mustache and hair. Tho, his belly is not as big as it used to be, he'd still make a great santa claus! If he's able to do it. He has Lou Gerig's disease and it is advancing rapidly lately. Please keep him in your prayers.

Things I'm thankful for

God has been good to me. He's given me much to thank Him for. Here goes....Joe, my husband. My children...Tammy, Buddy and Joey and God-given daughters, Leann and Tia. My wonderful nine grandchildren and five great grandchildren.

Health...Joe and I still can get around to take care of ourselves! My brothers and sisters and inlaws. My car. My home. George.

Im thankful for Thanksgiving. It gives me a chance to reflect on how good life really is...even when I'm sick and in pain.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

ELECTION RESULTS--AMERICAN

FINALLY!! The election is over. I was so sick of all the commercials. I'm not real thrilled with the outcome, but I know its all in God's hands. We just need to pray really hard...and often...that God will use President-elect Obama in the best way He sees fit.

Now I have a problem with Obama being called African-American! Isn't he just American? Will he be president of Africa and America?If he wants his race acknowledged, why not just plain old Black American? I don't really like that term either. No more than I want to be called White American. As far as I'm concerned, we're all just Americans. If the skin color makes a difference...say on a rap sheet...it should be noted under description...such as black complexion...or white complexion. Come on people, lets do away with Black American, White American, Japanese American, Mexican American, etc. American doesn't need any other description. Be proud! I'm an American who happens to be white, he's an American who happens to be black, she's an American who happens to be of Mexican descent. Don't call me White American...nor Irish American (my descent) nor my son Serbian American! Just call us Americans! President-elect Obama...I'm suggesting it start with you. Tell people...news media, for instance...that you're just an American! and they should drop "black-American" designation.
I suggest this be the first "change" you make.

Sunday, November 2, 2008

GREAT SUNDAY

Today was a wonderful day! Joey and three of his kids came to visit. They brought home-made potpies that Tia had sent...yummy! It was sooooo good to see them. I don't see nearly enough of those kids and I adore them every one. Amy is growing up so fast. Seems like yesterday she was Kadyn's age. And here she is, a lovely young lady of 12! I took them up to the flea market so they could see our store there. At least Andrew (5) was impressed. He called me after they got back home and said he has a great idea...he will make stuff and we can sell it for him, like book markers, pictures, bracelets. I said, sure....send it and we'll sell it and send you the money!

Then Tammy came over and said she had a good day selling at the store, too. Yayyyyy! finally a good weekend!

Don't forget to Vote Tuesday.

Thursday, October 30, 2008

DULL THURSDAY

second day in a row without seeing Kadyn....big sigh. He's sick. Was throwing up all day yesterday and last night. Sounds like he's on the mend now though.

Tomorrow is flea market....Tammy's working it all day. She's opening at 11 and will probably close at 5 or 6. Then Saturday, I have to open and work until probably 2 because Tammy has Kadyn. Kenny, his father, gets him on Saturday afternoons and all day Sunday.

Last weekend was a little better. We still didn't do very good, but at least there were more people walking through. I saw an advertisement in the little "Mad Money" coupon book today for the flea market, so perhaps that will help traffic.

I went to Joanne's yesterday to buy the crystals I need to make a special order bracelet. What a wasted trip. First of all, their crystals were so picked over, they didn't have the colors I needed. I did pick up a few other beads that were on sale. Then I went to check-out! One register was open. fifteen people in line. I stood there in line for five or ten minutes...and was in so much pain, I just pushed my cart to the side and exclaimed..."There's nothing in this store I want badly enough to stand in this line." As I walked away, I heard another lady say she agreed with me....and she walked out the door behind me. I didn't feel good all day today...so hopefully, tomorrow I can go over to Michaels and find the crystals I need.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

KADYN

There are days I don't see Kadyn....but Tammy brings him over at least three or four times a week. And it just warms my heart when he walks in, sees me, and grins from ear to ear.

The other day he taught me how to eat a freezer pop. Now, I don't care for them. But he loves them....and has to have one every time he comes over. He can open the freezer and get one..this day, he got two...and gave one to me. He took an orange, gave me a green. I cut off the ends, and he was watching me suck on mine. I put it in my mouth and pulled out a little bite with my teeth. Kadyn yelled uh-uh...frantically shaking his head. Then he took it from me, and diligently worked it up the plastic with his little fingers, then handed it back to me. I bit off what was sticking out....then again, I worked a bit up with my teeth. Uh-Uh, he says, shaking is head. He took it and again worked a bit up sticking out, and gave it to me. We did this four times....then he decided I wasn't going to learn to do it correctly, so when he worked it up, he held onto it while I took a bite. This went on three or four times. Meanwhile, his orange one is laying on the table, melting. Finally, he worked a bit up, and I opened my mouth for it. Mine, he yelled...and stuck it in his own mouth. Needless to say, by this time, I was in tears from laughing so much. I said, OK, I'll eat the orange one. Uh-Uh, he said...Gam. and he grabbed it from me and took it to Tammy. I guess he thought if I couldn't eat it right, I shouldn't have any at all!!

Every time that child walks into my house, he goes to the refrigerator and gets the cottage cheese. This is before the freezer pop. One day, because there was just a little bit left in the carton, I gave him a spoon and let him eat out of the carton. Then it took me and Tammy several days to break him from always wanting to eat out of the carton instead of putting some on a dish.

It is such a privilege to watch that child grow and develop day by day. I swear he's the smartest not-quite-two-year-old I've ever seen. He watches every move Tammy makes...and imitates it perfectly. If she sits at the table with her arms folded in front of her, Kadyn will do the same. And he wants to help all the time. He helped me mix up a meatloaf the other day....and every move I made with my hands, he duplicated exactly. He doesn't talk much. But I think he's just like his Uncle Billy...just doesn't want to talk. He can repeat everything you say and understands everything you say to him.....or to someone else.

Monday, October 27, 2008

JOEY'S BIRTHDAY

Today was Joey's birthday. He is 39 years old now...my baby! All day I've thought about the day he was born. I had quick and fairly easy births with Tammy and Buddy. But not Joey. I was in the hospital from 8 a.m Sunday morning...and he was born at 5 p.m Monday. They'd get me up walking and my pains would intensify and get close together...and I'd start hemorraging...I'd lie down, and pains would quit. Early Monday morning the doctor decided to induce labor. Breaking my water didn't work, so he gave me meds in an IV....OUCH!!!!! One constant labor pain without letup for an entire hour! AT one time...about three, they decided both the baby and I were in distress so they called the school and left word for Joe to come to the hospital. (he had basketball practice)...but the message they left was...it wasn't an emergency, but he should come to the hospital as soon as possible. The message he got was....it was'nt and emergency...we were doing ok. So, he didn't come until after practice....about 8 pm.

About 4:30, the doctor decided I had to have a c-section. But....as I was moving from my bed to the gurney, my labor came back with a vengence....bearing down pain so hard I couldn't stop it.
They rushed me to delivery....game me a spinal block...that didn't work, the doctor missed the spot. I ended up having natural childbirth....the doc couldn't even give me anything for the pain when he stitched me up....double OUCH! Because of the botched spinal....I had a headache for a week every time I sat up.

The same day Joey was born, Joe's cousin's husband, with whom we were quite close, died. He was driving to work that morning, didn't feel good, pulled off to the side of I-75....and died of a massive heart attack. Subsequently, all Joe's relatives were in town from Pittsburgh and Florida, and I had a steady stream of visitors to my hospital room and the nursery.

Then the day we went home...Saturday....(Mom had come up to stay with Joe and Tammy and Buddy)...the kids had been playing with the bassinet and broke it. Joe and I had to go to Sears and buy a portable crib for the downstairs. Also, a new washing machine because mine had quit working. Actually, Mom had overstuffed it and burned up the motor. She had never used an automatic washing machine except at the Laundromat! And a washing machine was a necessity because babies still wore cloth diapers.

We got back from Sears, and Mom informed us that Daddy was over at Aunt Susie's. He had come to pick her up...when she had planned to stay another week with me, but Daddy said a week away from him was Enough! Since Joe wouldn't go without me, he and I, with all three kids, drove Mom up to Ypsi. I was in total pain, sitting so much. On the way home, we stopped by Avanelle's and got a pillow for me to sit on.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JOEY. YOU WERE WORTH EVERYTHING I WENT THROUGH BRINGING YOU INTO THE WORLD.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

FLEA MARKET

BLAH!!! Another bad flea marketing weekend. There was, maybe, 100 people went through over the three days. The only things I saw anybody buying were cheap garage sale stuff. In fact, if they bring in any more garage sale type booths, we'll be outta there! And I have a problem anyway....when I first talked to the owner about renting a booth, I told her my concern was that there would be too many jewelry booths....and I didn't want a booth if there would be jewelry in every 3 or 4 booths...she said she wouldn't allow that. Wellllll......She's rented perhaps 30 booths...besides the garage sale booths her family has, perhaps 20 or more....and of the 30 or so, NINE of them are selling jewelry.

We're paid up through November, and I hope we can make enough for December. After that, we'll see. If we're not making money, I can't see going on with it. We haven't made enough to get my initial first months rent back.

Tammy's going to make some candles...maybe that will help. Its obvious that we need something besides jewelry. Maybe I should clean out my house....lol....garage sale stuff!

Tuesday, October 14, 2008


KADYN...the first weekend at the flea market, I bought this car for him. It was in the back of the van and he had to try it out!

MORE PICTURES



BILLY'S KIDS....FROM LEFT
LAYNI, JONAH AND ABBY

Picture


Joey's kids. bottoms to top...or left to right...Andrew, Amy, Aaron and Ann.

Doctor Day

Joe and I went to doctor today. Got flu shots. Joe got a thumbs up and I got a thumbs down. Said he couldn't hear any sounds in my lungs...no movement of air. On the plus side, I had lost 12 pounds...somewhere. Maybe because in the summer I eat more vegetables. I swear, I could become a vegetarian if I could keep fresh green beans, cabbage, potatoes and tomatoes all year.

And we have been eating a lot of chicken...grilled, baked, stewed...and only occasionally, fried. One of our favorite chicken dishes is cooked rice in a baking pan, then a layer of frozen broccoli... with chicken breasts on top of that...cream of chicken soup (mixed with can of water)poured over that...and covered with tin foil, baked for about an hour. yummy. I've also made it with a stuffing mix instead of rice...still very good.

Today I bought some fresh collard greens, cooked them in water til tender then fried them in a little bit of bacon grease with onions. Fried some cornbread. That's all I ate today. The guys opted for left over pot roast from a couple days ago, for some reason.

Meals are so boring anymore. I'm trying to cut down on pasta. But the table looks so bare with just meat and vegetables. Sometimes I get ambitious and open a can of peaches, too. Haha. Now both Joe and I can make a meal out of peaches and cottage cheese, or cottage cheese and tomatoes...but George hates cottage cheese. Wednesday is pasta day, Thank you Jesus! I'm thinking spaghetti.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

TERRIBLE!! TERRIBLE!!!

ACKKK!!! Two terrible days at the flea market. nothing...no $ yesterday...and only $6 today. Sure hope tomorrow is better.

As it worked out, I didn't have to work the booth at all yesterday. I went up at 2 but Teri was there visiting with Tammy. She had Grant and Kadyn with her (she was watching Kadyn)...so I just took Kadyn outside for awhile, then we closed it all up at 3:30 since nobody but vendors were in the building.

Today, I went in and relieved Tammy at 3...closed up at 6:30. Tomorrow I'm supposed to work it from 10 to 2, when Tammy will take over. She has Kadyn until then. He's a real hand full up there, so its easier for Tammy to just stay home with him.

They tell us that there used to be a flea market in the same building up til about six years ago...and it was always crowded! I sure hope it gets that way again.

Thursday, October 9, 2008

FLEA MARKET

Tomorrow is Friday...and I'll be at the flea market most of the day. Tammy and I have a booth at a local flea market...every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. After only two weekends, we showed a minor profit...but we did pay in advance for November.

Joey stayed with us last night. He had some work here in Fort Wayne yesterday and today. It was wonderful having him. I don't see nearly enough of either of my sons....and am very grateful when I do. Thank You, Lord.

Today was a lazy day for me. I worked on my laptop...trying to figure out what's wrong with it...but whatever it is, is beyond my expertise. I've talked to a few people about it and the consensus seems to be that....Vista is crap. I may end up taking it to a computer repair shop and having XP installed on it.

Tuesday, October 7, 2008

POLITICAL OUTSOURCING

Yesterday I had a phone call asking me to participate in a political survey, which I did. I answered all the questions, although several times I had to ask him to repeat the question. I just couldn't understand him since he had a heavy foreign accent.

A couple of years ago, I had a similar experience. Then, I asked the caller where he was located and he replied that he couldn't say. I said, "can you at least tell me if you are in the United States?" "No, I'm not," was his answer.

Now, I have a real problem with this. Our economy is in the tank and our politicians are hiring foreigners to poll Americans. There's just something wrong with that picture.

Of one thing you can be sure...I will not vote for that politician!

Sunday, October 5, 2008

FIFTY YEARS

In the fifty years since my daughter was born...there have been so many changes in the world...things we have now, I never even imagined back then.

If you were lucky and rich enough to own a TV....it was in black and white...on a a tiny screen. The biggest screens were 19 inches. In 1968 I got my first color TV...a floor model with a 21 inch screen.

Telephones....if you lived in the country you probably had a "party-line"....two or more families on the same line...and someone was always talking when you wanted to use the telephone.

Washing machines....if you had the latest and newest and best, you had a Maytag wringer washer. The dryer was lines strung in the back yard. Or in bad weather, in the house.

The only instant food was instant mashed potatoes that had the consistency of glue and tasted like it too. Of course, you could buy canned vegetables and fruits....but meal preparation ...breakfast, dinner and supper....took up several hours of my day. I thanked God for Campbell's soups and Pork n beans! And there were no microwave ovens. I got my first one in Bremen in 1976.

There were no disposable diapers! All diapers were cloth...Birdseye was the best. We had a choice of square or rectangle ones. And there was a diaper pail in the bathroom where they were put to soak after dumping the contents into the toilet, until washday, by which time they were pretty ripe and smelly! And babies wet a lot...so, without rubber pants, I could go through a dozen diapers in a day! Tammy was allergic to the rubber so, every time we picked her up, she had to be changed.

Nobody locked their doors...or their cars. You could fill your gas tank...18 to 20 gallons...for less than $5. Mark was in the Air Force and brought home $80 a month plus my allotment of $72...went up to $92 after Buddy was born. We didn't own a car until after Buddy was born and I went to work full time....making $40 a week. My budget was....$80 rent, $60 food, $10 laundromat. When Buddy was six months old, I went to work full time, making $40 a week and we felt rich! Even after paying $15 a week for a baby-sitter! We bought a used car and got a telephone and could afford to go to a movie once in a while.

It just seems that life was simpler then. Kids could play outside and we didn't have to watch them every minute. I do appreciate all the conveniences we enjoy today, but I find myself thinking more and more about how simple life was back then...and wish I could have realized it and taken the time to enjoy it more instead of worrying about what we didn't have and how we we could get it.

WHO'S GETTING OLD?????

My daughter Tammy was FIFTY years old this past Wednesday. She was a tad upset over it...and I thought...you should be me, honey!

On Monday her daughters took her out for lunch to Olive Garden and I tagged along. Then on Wednesday Joe and I took her to Red Lobster for lunch. Her kids bought her a new couch...at least they gave her a card with a picture of a couch. They've picked out one at Big Lots ...now they just have to pay for it and pick it up.

It doesn't seem possible that it's been 50 years since she was born. I remember that day like it was yesterday. Mark and I were only 19...and we were equally scared and excited. He was so excited he called his mother...and shouted in the phone "I'm a Dad...I'm a Dad" and then hung up without even telling her anything about the baby!

Being the oldest of eight kids, I was pretty knowledgeable about how to take care of a baby...so I wasn't worried about that. But I was so in awe of her, I used to hang over her crib just watching her sleep. Mark would too. If she stretched, we would oooh and aaaah...yelling for the other one to come look. Mark was determined to be a hands-on dad...very unusual for a man in those days....and took great joy and pride in changing her diaper....until he had to changed a very messy one....he took one look at that dirty diaper and promptly threw up...barely missing the baby! From then on, before he'd change her, he'd pick her up and smell her bottom. If he smelled anything, he'd hand her to me to change.

A couple of day after we brought her home, Mark was making up her formula...well...I had made it and put it on to boil. We didn't have instant formula back then. We mixed up Carnation milk, corn sugar and water...poured it in previousely sterilized bottles...and then had to "cook" the filled bottles in boiling water for 30 minutes. Well, Tammy was hungry and Mark took the boiling hot bottle and held it under cold running water....and it exploded! He got a piece of glass in his eye. We didn't have a car, so I ran upstairs to a friend...and asked him to drive us to the ER. At the ER, while the docs are working on Mark, a nurse came up to me...and said why are you bleeding so hard? I looked down and there was a pool of blood at my feet. So they put me on a table in the same room...and discovered I had torn my stitches so bad they had to restitch me. Ouch...ouch...ouch! Mark had to wear a "pirate's patch" over his eye for a couple of weeks...but it was fine, eventually.

I've always said its the Mother who deserves the birthday cards....giving birth is such a miracle...and so much work for the mother...she should celebrate the day every year!

Monday, July 14, 2008

Here are pictures of Kadyn with Tammy and Grant..two of my great grandchildren. Kadyn, Sarah's baby, is 19 months old. Grant, Teri's baby, is five months.

THREE RIVERS FESTIVAL

This weekend, Sat. and Sun. July 12 and 13...was the Three Rivers Festival here in Fort Wayne.
After a very rainy start, making us late to set up, the rain cleared by noon and we had a wonderful festival. Saturday got very hot and by 2 pm I was done!

For you who don't know, Tammy and I make and sell jewelry at festivals and flea markets. I don't do much of the selling end anymore, but decided to work the Three Rivers with her, thinking I could always get someone to bring me home if I got sick. WRONG! perhaps I could have gotten a ride home...in fact, I know I could have....but first I would have had to walk two blocks to the car. Now, I can't easily walk the length of our mobile home...80 feet. So, once I got there I was stuck.

Altie worked with us on Saturday and it was a good thing, because we were busy!People went crazy over our cheaper jewelry...for children....and our ankle bracelets. Most of the afternoon, all three of us were working. People were lined up three deep trying to get to the ankle bracelets. Finally, Tammy removed some items that were'nt selling, and divided the anklets and the childrens bracelets...putting them on two tables, one on each side of our booth. That helped with the crowds...and the sales!! After 2, I pulled up a chair in the shade of the tent and only filled in when Tammy and Altie were too busy. When I got home, I said...that's it for me. I can't go tomorrow. And then Altie said she didn't think she'd be able to work Sunday either. Knowing Tammy couldn't handle it by herself, I dragged my aching body out of bed this morning and went with her. And lo, and behold...before we even got set up, Altie was there...bless her heart.
And Sunday was just as busy as Saturday, so Praise the Lord for me being able to help out...what little I did. We probably sold 7 or 8 hundred ankle bracelets...couple hundred kids bracelets and rings, as well as 50 or 60 towels. We sold a few pieces of our Swarovski jewelry...but the majority was the cheaper stuff. All in all, it was a great weekend for us. We took in more money than we ever have in two days. The weather could not have been better, after the initial rainy start. Thank you, Lord!!

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

WHY DID THE CHICKEN CROSS THE ROAD?

This is too funny...I just had to post it.


WHY DID THE CHICKEN CROSS THE ROAD ?
Have fun adding one more of your own and
share with sender.


NOW, why did the chicken cross the road?*
BARACK OBAMA: The chicken crossed the road because it was time for a CHANGE! The chicken wanted CHANGE!

JOHN McCAIN: My friends, that chicken crossed the road because he recognized the need to engage in cooperation and dialogue with all the chickens on the other side of the road.

HILLARY CLINTON: When I was First Lady, I personally helped that little chicken to cross the big road. This experience makes me uniquely qualified to ensure -- right from Day One! -- that every chicken in this country gets the chance it deserves to cross the road. But then, this really isn't about me.......

DR. PHIL: The problem we have here is that this chicken won't realize that he must first deal with the problem on THIS side of the road before it goes after the problem on the OTHER SIDE of the road. What we need to do is help him realize how stupid he's acting by not taking on his CURRENT problems before adding NEW problems.

OPRAH: Well, I understand that the chicken is having problems, which is why he wants to cross this road so bad. So instead of having the chicken learn from his mistakes and take falls, which is a part of life, I'm going to give this chicken a car so that he can just drive across the road and not live his life like the rest of the other chickens.

GEORGE W. BUSH: We don't really care why the chicken crossed the road. We just want to know if the chicken is on our side of the road, or not. The chicken is either against us, or for us. There is no middle ground here.

COLIN POWELL: Now to the left of the screen, you can clearly see the satellite image of the chicken crossing the road...

ANDERSON COOPER - CNN: We have reason to believe there is a chicken, but we have not yet been allowed to have access to the other side of the road.

JOHN KERRY: Although I voted to let the chicken cross the road, I am now against it! It was the wrong road to cross, and I was misled about the chicken's intentions. I am not for it now, and will remain against it.

NANCY GRACE: That chicken crossed the road because he's GUILTY! You can see it in his eyes and the way he walks.

PAT BUCHANAN: To steal the job of a decent, hardworking American.

MARTHA STEWART: No one called me to warn me which way that chicken was going. I had a standing order at the Farmer's Market to sell my eggs when the price dropped to a certain level. No little bird gave me any insider information.

DR SEUSS: Did the chicken cross the road? Did he cross it with a toad? Yes, the chicken crossed the road, But why he crossed I've not been told.

ERNEST HEMINGWAY: To die in the rain. Alone.

JERRY FALWELL: Because the chicken was gay! Can't you people see the plain truth? That's why they call it the 'other side.' Yes, my friends, that chicken is gay. And if you eat that chicken, you will become gay too. I say we boycott all chickens until we sort out this abomination that the liberal media whitewashes with seemingly harmless phrases like 'the other side.' That chicken should not be crossing the road. It's as plain and as simple as that.

GRANDPA: In my day we didn't ask why the chicken crossed the road. Somebody told us the chicken crossed the road, and that was good enough.

BARBARA WALTERS: Isn't that interesting? In a few moments, we will be listening to the chicken tell, for the first time, the heartwarming story of how it experienced a serious case of molting, and went on to accomplish its lifelong dream of crossing the road.

ARISTOTLE: It is the nature of chickens to cross the road.

JOHN LENNON: Imagine all the chickens in the world crossing roads together, in peace.

BILL GATES: I have just released eChicken2008, which will not only cross roads, but will lay eggs, file your important documents, and balance your checkbook. Internet Explorer is an integral part of eChicken2008. This new platform is much more stable and will never cra. ..#@&&^(C% .........Reboot.

ALBERT EINSTEIN: Did the chicken really cross the road, or did the road move beneath the chicken?

BILL CLINTON: I did not cross the road with THAT chicken. What is your definition of CROSSING ?

AL GORE: I invented the chicken!

COLONEL SANDERS: Did I miss one?

DICK CHENEY: Where's my gun?

AL SHARPTON: Why are all the chickens white? We need some black chickens.

BILL COSBY : "Who be crossin' and why he be ?" If you can't speak English, you'll never be able to cross the road ! mlc

THE POET: Ode to the feathered fowl, whose mind could not be made; to cross yon winding road,
or rest in the elmish shade. (char s)

BAPTIST PREACHER: Repent, oh dearly beloved chicken, let Jesus into your heart. Then when you get run over by a car, trying to cross the busy road, You will dwell in the Lord's chickenhouse forever.

Sunday, June 29, 2008

LORETTA

Good News! Loretta went home from hospital today. She sounded much stronger when I talked to her and said she is feeling better.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

LORETTA

Loretta is in the hospital in Warsaw. She has exacerbated COPD and Congestive heart failure. I talked to her today and she sounded very weak and too tired to talk longer than a couple of minutes. Keep her and Jimmy in your prayers.

STRANGER IN THE HOUSE

I woke up from a nap this afternoon...heard somebody holler and thought it was on the tv...which was on in the living room. But the third time I heard the yell...and could hear a commercial on tv...I decided to investigate! I walked out to the kitchen...over by the table...and....there was a strange man sitting in George's recliner.

He looked at me...like 'who are you'....and I said, "who are you...what are you doing in my house?" He said....well slurred, actually..."I'm Brian's nephew." It was pretty obvious to me that he was stone-cold drunk! To every question I asked, he answered that he was Brian's nephew. Evidently, he thought I should know Brian, since I was in Brian's house! It took me about ten minutes to convince him that Brian didn't live here....and perhaps he should check the house next door! After he left, I looked out the window (after locking the door behind him...kinda like the horse and the cart, right?) and there was a red riding mower in our yard and the grass had been very drunkenly mowed!

Now, believe me I was not as calm as this writing about it sounds. I was scared spitless! While I was calmly trying to convince him to leave, random thoughts flitted through my head...like...call 911...but maybe he'll get violent if I pick up the phone.....go out the back door to a neighbor...but there's no neighbor out back of us....It seemed my best bet was to stay calm and convince him he was in the wrong house.

About ten minutes after he left, he came back and got the riding mower. And maybe a half hour later, he was again mowing our lawn! But I had all the doors locked!

Friday, June 20, 2008

GOOD THURSDAY

This was a good week for Tammy at Shipshewana. The weather could not have been better. I had planned to go with her on Tuesday, but this old body just wouldn't cooperate. We made a little money...enough to pay the entrance fees for Three Rivers Festival.

We went out for dinner tonight with Teri and Anthony...we, means me, Tammy and Kadyn. We went to KFC...one I had never gone to. But, if you've been to one KFC buffet, you've been to them all. Dinner was very pleasant until Kadyn got tired....and loud....and didn't want to sit in his high chair anymore. Speaking of Kadyn....he got his first real haircut today. All his precious curls are gone and so are his baby looks. He looks like a little boy now...and the image of his mother!! He's talking more and more, even putting two words together. "want more" "stop dog" The cutest thing is when he comes up you and points to his rear end and says "poo"....he'll even go get his diaper. Sarah is starting to potty train him. She said today he was straining, so she asked him if he wanted togo to the bathroom and he pointed toward the bathroom and then ran in there...where he stood in front of the toilet and pulled his shirt up. Evidently he's seen his Daddy and big brother go. Then Sarah put him up on the big pot and he did go "poo".

When he comes over here, if I'm laying down...and I usually am...he will run into the bedroom and the first thing he does is grab my shoes and bring them to me. That tells me he wants me to get up! Then when he leaves, he has to tell everybody....and everything bye. Bye, dog...bye bird, bye television....I am besotted with that child!!! He is God's gift to my old age!!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

RON AND PAULINE

Ron went home from the hospital today! It was amazing. Last Monday and Tuesday the nurses and doctors thought for sure he was dying. His doctor said the only chance he had was the surgery to put the tube in his neck into his windpipe. They did the surgery late Tuesday and by Wednesday afternoon, he had improved amazingly. I can only contribute it to the Power of Prayer.

He will be on oxygen at home at night and during the day whenever he gets short of breath and a home health nurse will come in to check on him. Pauline is ecstatic and is praising the Lord for his remarkable recovery.

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

MORE ON BROTHER IN LAW

My sister's husband, Ron, had the tracheotomy today. Pray that it will work and he can eventually be weaned off the ventilator.

Pauline said he seemed much better today and the doctor was more optomistic. Good news!

Pauline update

On Saturday, 6/7, Ron, Pauline's husband, was transferred from the hospital in Warsaw to Lutheran Hospital in Fort Wayne.
In Warsaw, he was taken off the ventilator (life support) and became so distressed, the doctor told Pauline he wouldn't live more than 6 hours if they didn't put him back on life support. So, they did and then sent him by ambulance to Fort Wayne "because they have better equipment and doctors" Pauline was told.

Pauline called me and asked me to be there when the ambulance arrived since she could not get there until later. Tammy and I were at the hospital when the ambulance arrived. We talked to the doctor, lung specialist..who told us Ron would need a tracheostomy. He had just finished talking to us when Pauline and Rhonda with her husband Bill, showed up. So the doctor went all through it again. The doctor said a lot of things...mainly that nobody could know for sure if Ron will live or not...but definitely not without the trach.

Monday, Pauline got to the hospital after the doctor had been and gone. She found Ron very swollen, clammy and running a temperature. Pauline became very agitated and the nurses called the doctor to come back and talk to her. Again, the doctor told her he wasn't God...and could not tell her for sure if Ron will live or not, even with the trach....but the trach is his only chance. He is having the trach put in this afternoon. I will go to the hospital to be with Pauline for this.

Pauline is understandably upset and worried sick. She keeps saying she wishes they had never put Ron on life support. He had filled out a living will a couple years ago stating he did not ever want to be on life support.

I'm not sure if Warsaw hospital asked her ahead of time...when she first took Ron to ER...or if they just went ahead and put him on the ventilator. But on Saturday morning when they removed it, they did give her a choice. Did she make the right decision? I don't know. It was against Ron's stated wishes, yet, in the crisis and the emotions of the moment, she chose life support. She says she thought it was only temporary and they could reverse the effects of the sleep apnea and he could be taken off the ventiator successfully.

So...how important is it that we fill out a living will if our family, in a high stress emotional moment can opt for the life-support?

Personally, given the information she had, I think she made the right decision. The doctor thought...or let her believe anyway...that the ventilator was only a temporary measure. I'm sure most of us would choose life support if there was a chance we could get well. Say, if you had pneumonia and there was a chance of curing it with the help of a ventilator. I know I don't want to be on life-support if there's no chance I'll be well again, but if it's merely a tool to make you well, of course you should use it.

Friday, June 6, 2008

Pauline

Last night Pauline's husband, Ron, was taken to ER because he stopped breathing. He's been treated for sleep apnea for the past year or so. Last night about 8 he fell and Pauline couldn't get him up so she called a friend who called 911. When he got to the hospital they put him in ICU on a ventilator. The doctor tells her its touch and go whether he makes it or not. Tomorrow morning they will try to wean him off the ventilator. If he can't breathe on his own, then Pauline will have to decide whether or not to put him back on the ventilator.
I don't know much about sleep apnea, but Pauline said the doctor said Ron inhales but doesn't exhale...and the carbon dioxide has built up in his body.

Pauline is a wreck. Ron has been her whole life. She's not even close to her children. She says she doesn't know what she will do, both emotionally and financially, if she loses Ron. I just feel so sorry for her but all I can do is pray for them both.

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

OBAMA

Well, it looks like Barack Obama will be the democratic candidate for president, which means he will probably be president. I just can't see our country voting in McCain, who echoes President Bush's policies. With the war, gasoline prices and the downturn of our overall economy, I can't see a Republican, any Republican...winning again.



I have listened to Obama's speeches. I have to say he's very inspiring. But, what are his real beliefs? I haven't heard anything specific from him as to his policies. Yeh, our country is ready for a change....but it must be a change TO something better.



At the risk of sounding racist, which I really hope I'm not, I ask myself....is our country ready for a black president. More that that, are our black citizens ready for a black president? I have some fears about that. I have had a few black people whom I could call friends. Yet, when these same people got in a crowd with other black people, they turned militant...even towards me. Its my opinion that black people don't want equality...they want dominance.



My compassion for black people only goes so far. I did not, nor did my ancestors, own slaves. In fact, my people were so poor they probably wished they were slaves so they would at least know where their next meal would come from. When I was in Florida for a few months in the late 50's, I did feel very sorry for black people. It wasn't right that they had to drink from a separate water fountain in the drug store where I worked...or use a separate bathroom. Or sit on the back of a bus, or give up their seat on the bus to a white man. But they don't have those problems anymore. Today, Blacks and whites work side by side on assembly lines, making the same pay. I do wish and hope we eventually get the poorest schools on a par with the schools in more affluent areas....for both blacks and whites. I don't think the school inequality is a race problem, I think it's a poor people problem.



Anyway, my point here is that I believe black people should just get over the slave issue. That was 150 years ago. It happened and it's too bad. We can wish it didn't but we can't undo it. But blacks are still hostile to whites. Oh, not one on one...but in groups they feed on each other's inner hostilities and resentment. I worry that this militancy will escalate under a black president.

I also have problems with a man going to a church for 20 years and having a close friendship with the minister...and can still say he doesn't subscribe to that minister's beliefs! If I don't agree with what is being preached from the pulpit, you better believe I'm going to find another church that reflects my own beliefs.

All we can do is pray. Pray that Obama will be a good christian leader. Pray that race relations will improve..not get worse. Pray that our economy will improve. Pray for all the people who are losing their homes to foreclosure.

GARDEN

I am so frustrated. I want to plant two or three tomato plants near my back deck, but can't get anybody to dig it up for me...get rid of the weeds, etc. Last year Jimmy, my brother, tilled it for me but with the cost of gas, he and Loretta seldom even come to Fort Wayne and I can't blame them.

So, this morning I took my handy little hoe...really a tiny thing for house plants....in hand and went to work. By the time I had a ..maybe...one foot square area cleaned out, I thought I was gonna pass out, but I persevered and dug a hole and planted one tomato plant. That might be all I get planted this year, but at least it's something. By the time I was finished, I was so exhausted, I couldn't stand up. I crawled over to the steps and sat there for about ten minutes, until I was able to make it back into the house. But at least I'll have a few fresh tomatoes later this summer!!

I still have two more tomato plants and thinking maybe I'll get some potting soil and plant them in big pots. I did that a few summers in Michigan and got a few small tomatoes off the plants.

On second thought, maybe tomorrow I'll try to clear another small area and plant a couple of cucumber plants.

Random

We didn't go to Shipshewanna because rain and thunderstorms were forcast for all day today...and guess what...it didn't as much as sprinkle. We consoled ourselves by saying that perhaps there wouldn't be many people at Shipshewanna because they all thought it was going to storm!

Poor Sarah! She and Kadyn, with a girlfriend and her daughter, went to Indy children's museum today. On the way home she said a police car was behind her, following her for several miles before finally pulling her over. He told her she had crossed the centerline! Then asked if she had any "drugs" in the car. She said no. He asked if he could use a dog to check and she said ok.
By this time, there's four police cars pulled over behind her, and she panics. The policeman kept asking her what was wrong, what she was acting so guilty over. She tried to explain she was just nervous...and said..."just look at this...its like a Cops Gone Wrong episode."

Sarah told the officer that she has not smoked dope in over two years...so they won't find anything. But they brought out this puppy lab and played with him with a tennis ball...and said he had a "hit". Sarah said that was impossible.

Then he picked up a handful of dirt off the floor of the car and said "this is 'shake'. Sarah said no, its dirt!

Then he asked her why her girlfriend was so 'relaxed' and mellow. Sarah said thats just the way she is...she's mellow and I'm hyper, that's why we're good friends!

He told her they'd had a call-in from someone who said there were two girls in a car just like hers smoking dope...and he had to follow her until she made some mistake before he could pull them over. He gave her a ticket for crossing the center line and told her the really thinks they were smoking dope with those babies in the car, but couldn't prove it.

What a crock! Sarah was so upset. She knows she didn't do anything wrong...but four police cars! and to still be accused of smoking dope in her car when she won't even smoke cigarettes in it when Kadyn is with her! That was pure and simple police harassment. Sarah thinks they were training the dog!

Tammy brought Grant over...my little Buddy Boy....and I had him giggling out loud. I stood him on the table and he loved it! But...tammy went outside to smoke...and I went over to pick him up....he took one look at me and screamed! He thought he had been left alone with this old lady. As soon as Tammy came back inside, he was fine.

Thats all from the Wussles house today.

Sunday, June 1, 2008

first post

I'm going to try this and hope people read it. But then again, I might bore them to death. How interesting can it be reading about the lives of three elderly people?

Today was Sunday and it was very quiet. After church, I stayed home and worked on jewelry. Joe and George went to the OTB ... Off track betting parlor, where they go every day except Monday and Tuesday when it's closed.

This past week Tammy went to Shipshewanna Monday, Tues and Wed. I went with her on Monday. Sales were quite brisk up until 2 pm when there seemed to be a mass exodus. I enjoyed the day even though I got very tired and had to lie down in the car for an hour. And the bathroom was too far away for me. My cousin Alta went with Tammy all three days and was a great help to her. She plans to go again this Tues and Wed, but the weather forecast calls for rain Tues, so she might not go. I'll try to go on Tues if she does, God Willing.